Matcha Do About Nothing

I can’t believe the weekend is almost over. It’s been so beautiful, with 70-degree weather and clear, sunny skies. Such a treat after a long, dreary week filled with overcast skies and rain. On gorgeous days like this, it’s quite easy to rise with the sun and flee to Piedmont Park for a quick run, a leisurely walk or simply to doggie-watch (I melt every time I see a Schnauzer). In contrast, during the storm-filled week, I found myself dragging in every way…skipping workouts, rising out of bed with unnecessary resentment toward my alarm clock, even passing on breakfast a time or two in the rush to get to work (for shame..I know, I know!). By Thursday, I was fed up in more ways than one. I needed an energy boost and a light, refreshing and QUICK breakfast to reclaim the spring my step and the season upon us. Farewell, oatmeal: I shall see you next fall. Tis the season of the green smoothie.

And about that energy boost. I’ve been trying to completely cut out coffee for now and rely on green tea for my caffeine fix…there are several reasons for this, and I’m sure I’ll explore them in a later entry. So in line with this goal, I picked up some matcha green tea powder from Market Spice several weeks ago during my trip to Seattle.

Source

Matcha–which can be quite expensive according to the grade/quality–is a type of Japanese green tea that has been finely ground into a powdered form. Elaborate tea ceremonies surround the preparation of matcha tea in Japan, and the powder makes a frequent appearance in Japanese cuisine, as a coloring agent as well as a flavor additive. Green tea in general has been praised for its potent antioxidant levels as well as its pro-metabolic properties. Consider matcha then as the king of green teas: it delivers much higher antioxidant levels (at least 3-fold for the antioxidant EGCG) and stronger health benefits than your ordinary cup of bagged or loose green tea. So the answer was clear. It was now also the season of the matcha.

For some time now, I’ve had my eye on the recipes at Green Lemonade, a healthy living/detox blog. When I saw a little number for a Matcha Green Tea and Apple Detox Smoothie, I knew I’d struck gold.

Delicious, light, refreshing. And the best part? I don’t have to take the extra time to brew a cup of green tea! Pinkies up, folks.

5 Comments to “Matcha Do About Nothing”

  1. Ah…what I’m missing not being part of the Atlanta scene! Many years ago, I was growing up there was a program called, “My Little Margie.” At the end of every show, Margie’s father would have a very brief wrap up and close with, “yes, that’s my little Margie. I know it’s stretching it a bit, but well…that’s my Becky! = D P.S. Found an episode on You Tube and verified my memory…heehee

  2. Delicioso! That matcha smoothie looks great. I actually know someone who is certified in the art tea ceremonial presentation. It is elaborate and the greatest care is taken with the brewing and serving of the tea.

    On a different note: I can’t believe that I didn’t see your postie until now! I have missed it very matcha.
    Thanks for the link to the article on antioxidant content in matcha green tea powder; I have now seen something first hand and don’t have to instead rely on “Time magazine said…” or “sources say…”.

  3. Oh yummy!!!!! Beautiful color in your photos, Becks!! Can you move up here and be my personal chef? ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

