Home

Mes amis, I’ve been away for a while. So much has happened since my last post that I honestly feel like a different person. But perhaps you do too, so it may be a good thing that we are meeting again.

The summer ended in a whirlwind–the last days of my job, a brief jaunt to South America with NPR and family. I flew back the night before my new PA program began, head still spinning, running on adrenaline. Things started out smooth enough…excitement, new friends/classmates, thisisthefirstdayofmylife, yada yada. Ah, little did I know. The intensity of my program rose from 0 to 90 within a couple of weeks, and let up…oh, you know, a few days ago. And my mornings went from this:

To this:

Oh wait, do you not see a photo? Yes, that’s right. For all of my preachiness about being healthy, I skipped breakfast–not to mention cooking in general– for the better part of the last five months. Sympathy? No thanks…just a bit of understanding regarding my disappearance off the face of the planet. And now I’m home, resting, and sleeping off the vertigo with a batting average of 2.2 naps a day. But rest, family and good food are the perfect prescription, and each day has been feeling a bit more normal.

I even coaxed myself into the kitchen to make my traditional (er, since last year) Christmas muesli:

Based largely on this recipe and made gluten-free, for special people around me with gluten aversions. Make it and enjoy, or give to someone you love.

It’s so good to be home.

2 Comments to “Home”

  1. You just keep on keeping on, Becks.
    Miss you in my life.

  2. I really enjoy your blog, please don´t stop. It´s an inspiration. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

