Fitness Roundup!

Since this is a healthy living blog, I thought I’d give you a break today from super yummy eats and do a little fitness schpeal. A little ironic, since I’ve been sick for the last week and feel a bit off my game [translate: activity level= highly sedentary]. Well, what better time to jump back on the horse?

I’m normally pretty active, but the number of days that I work out varies according to (a) whether I wake up in time (I’m 100% an AM workout person), and (b) well…actually, it’s really just dependent on dragging myself out of bed. I wasn’t really active in undergrad, but over the years I’ve really come to value how therapeutic a good run is, and how a good bout of hula dancing can lift your spirits sky high. Hula dancing? Oh yeah, hips don’t lie. Read on, baby. So here it is. My first fitness round-up: a collection of things that are keeping my feet moving and usually help me get out of bed in the morning.

At the Gym

Machines: I have a dual love affair with the Arc Trainer and treadmill. The Arc Trainer is my favorite low-impact cardio machine…what a burn! My least favorite? The elliptical. For some reason I cannot seem to push myself on that machine. To each his/her own, I suppose.
Class: Spinning! Don’t be fooled: this is NOT a class for the fainthearted! I just tried my first spin class a couple of months ago and was floating for the rest of the day on the morning adrenaline rush! Unfortunately the spin experience can sometimes be tainted by a poor playlist or a soft-spoken/unclear instructor. Nevertheless, I encourage you to give it a try! In my experience, I push myself way harder in spin class than I do twiddling my thumbs and reading Women’s Health on a bike all by my lonesome.

Fitness Blogs
1. The Fitnessista: One of the very first blogs that I started reading. Gina is an incredibly positive dancer/trainer/military wife and posts fantastic workouts (AND scrumptious recipes) for free!
2. Bodyrock.tv: I must be the last person to jump on the Bodyrock bandwagon, but holy spumoni! Think crossfit/tabata workouts…but sexy. Great easy-to-follow videos and an online community presence for accountability. Yes, please.
3. Tara Stiles: Aka the “Yoga Rebel”, Tara is known for her no-nonsense approach to yoga. I love how down-to-earth she is, not to mention her great yoga v-logs (hello, Yoga on an Airplane!).

Exercise DVDs
Sometimes the hardest part of working out is getting to the gym. And for those of us that live with the four seasons, this can be especially true with Old Man Winter. For those days, workout DVDs.

1. Beachbody’s Brazil Butt Lift: Haha, how embarrassing for me to admit that I own this! However, as many who have lived with me know, I like my exercise videos nice and weird. I’m sure Jamie remembers the Cardio Hula days, non?

And how could Daniel forget my Bollywood obsession after trekking to India?

BBL is actually a great workout, and the instructor has a nice, thick Brazilian accent. And if you close your eyes, you can almost imagine this guy is leading your workout session:

2. Bryan Kest’s Power Yoga Collection: One of my favorite yoga DVDs. This was the only workout source that I had with me for an entire summer in West Africa, so, perhaps contrary to the majority of the population, I find Bryan’s Rapunzel-esque fro, jersey accent and shirtless-with-jean-shorts getup quite soothing. It’s a nice reminder of the nineties, a favorite decade of someone that I know. Don’t knock him til you try him!

Favorite Workout Songs of the Moment
Black and Yellow: Repetitive, and just what you need to hear when pounding the pavement/treadmill.
Stereo Love: Think Amelie meets trance.
Coming Home: Makes me feel sad, wistful and inspired all within a split second. Hey, you gotta mix it up.

Ok, enough of this madness. Fitness out, more food to come!

Tags: ,

6 Comments to “Fitness Roundup!”

  1. I too am a fan of weird, embarrassing workout DVDs. Thanks for the links! I’ve been thinking of doing some DVD reviews and this makes me want to get on that.

  2. You are fun! Whatever the subject = D

  3. This entry is hilarious! I have heard from several friends that spin class is such a rush and kicks serious butt for a great body workout. I have never tried it meself though. Nor I have tried hula for fitness. I guess there can always be a first time! 🙂 Good luck to your sweaty adventures.

  4. Came across your blog and this post was so inspiring! I started a fitness blog of different trends I was going to try out. I have heard that spin class is really hard, but I will probably be trying that out soon. Thanks for all the great info!!

Leave a Reply

